SPF fail but DKIM pass using Amazon SES on Wordpress via Mailster

So I will apologize in advance as I’m an idiot about this stuff.

Quick background:
Use Wordpress for a photography site and recently switched to the Mailster plugin for sending out a daily and weekly newsletter. I have been using Amazon SES for a few years dating back to a prior plugin and I think was grandfathered into not having to do the DKIM stuff until I switched.

So, on Amazon SES, I have a verified domain and email from address. Emails seem to be going out fine but I keep getting DMARC emails that seem to show DKIM Pass and SPF Fail.

I use Cloudflare and have input the MX and TXT fields there. I’m not sure if I’m supposed to put in actual emails and domains here or if that is just asking for spam…

Cloudflare has 3 MX entries
Name - Mail Server
root - smtp.domain-com
root - mail.domain-com
newsletter - Amazon SES value (feedback-smtp.us-east-1.amazonses.com)

Also two TXT fields
_dmarc - v=DMARC1; p=quarantine; rua=mailto:contact@domain-com

default._domainkey - v=DKIM1; k=rsa; p=(lots of text)

And 3 CNAME entries from Amazon SES to verify the domain

So hopefully that is enough info to help you help me figure out why I get 10 emails per day to the dmarc account with all showing DKIM=pass and SPF=fail

EDIT: meant to add that I added in that newsletter@domain-com in Amazon SES as the Custom Mail From domain as an attempt to fix the SPF fail issue. Then I added the MX entry to account for that but not sure if that was correct.

I send emails from Mac Mail using the contact@ address regularly so didn’t want to lose that ability by having the Amazon SES emails use the contact@ address and have to change the MX entry for it to only be able to use Amazon (hope that all makes sense)

Thanks! (new user so had to modify the above and replace . with - to not have too many links)

Welcome the dmarcian forums!